Jazz In The Round, Arena and Bandstand names complete Love Supreme Line-Up


A final flurry of additional performances have been confirmed for this year's fifth edition of Love Supreme Jazz Festival, which runs from 30 June – 2 July in Glynde, East Sussex. Expecting to exceed the 22,000 who attended the greenfield festival in 2016, this year's line-up packs in more opening night action with the Bandstand and Arena firing up early, plus an inaugural festival appearance of Jazz in the Round, the essential monthly Marylebone music showcase hosted by Jazz FM DJs Jez Nelson and Chris Philips. The latter brings together some of the brightest and best of the UK's cutting edge players with the Friday's triple bill including Justin Thurgur Afro Jazztet, Matthew Bourne and Theon Cross (top left), and Saturday late-night live wires Triforce (above right), Randolph Matthews and James Beckwith Trio plus Gearbox Records vinyl session.

The Arena's Friday line-up includes newcomers Jam Experiment, Howes3 and Cara Hammond (above centre), latin-jazz Londoners J-Sonics and Brighton-based Afrobeaters Lakuta. The Bandstand, curated by Eddie Myer of Brighton jazz club The Verdict, shows off a slew of emerging talent across the weekend (listings below), while the Verve Jazz Lounge returns once again offering seated sanctuary for festivalgoers who can watch screenings of documentaries, Gregory Porter – Don't Forget Your Music and Chasing Coltrane, plus a number of Ella Fitzgerald-themed events including Mica Paris talking about her Ella project on Saturday.

The festival, for which Jazzwise is media partner, has now confirmed timings for Main Stage, Big Top and Arena line-ups as follows:

Saturday 1 July – Main Stage: The Jacksons (21.30); Corinne Bailey Rae (19.30); NAO (17.45); D'Influence (16.00); Lee Fields and The Expressions (14.15); LaSharVu (12.30). Big Top: Herbie Hancock (20.30); BADBADNOTGOOD (18.45); Mica Paris sings the Ella Fitzgerald Songbook (17.00); Michael Wollny Trio (15.15); Shabaka and The Ancestors (13.30) and Clare Teal & Mini Big Band (11.45). The Arena: Joey Negro (DJ Set) (23.00); The Comet is Coming (21.45); Becca Stevens (20.00); Sons of Kemet (18.15); Mammal Hands (16.30); Poppy Ajudha (14.45); Ashley Henry Ensemble (13.15) and Maisha (12.00).

Sunday 2 July – Main Stage: Gregory Porter (20.30); George Benson (18.30); Kamasi Washington (16.45); St. Paul and The Broken Bones (15.00); Hot 8 Brass Band (13.30) and La Mambanegra (12.00). Big Top: Robert Glasper Experiment (20.00); Laura Mvula (18.00); Christian Scott (16.15); Charenee Wade (14.30); Michael Janisch Paradigm Shift (13.00) and Kansas Smitty's House Band. The Arena: Brand New Heavies vs Incognito (DJ Set) (22.00); Jordan Rakei (20.45); Yussef Kamaal (19.15); Nubiyan Twist (17.30); Miles Mosley & The West Coast Get Down (15.30); Makaya McCraven (14.00); Blue Lab Beats (12.45) and Camilla George Quartet (11.30).

The Bandstand line-up is as follows – Friday: King Size Slim, Sara Oschlag, The Old Jelly Rollers and Cesca. Saturday: ROB.GREEN, Adrian Kendon Quinet, Zenel, Pocket Dragon and Dave Drake. Sunday: Trees, Sam Barnett, Seven, Mostly McCoy and Mseleku, George Trebar's Nighthawks feat. Matt Wates and Alex Hitchcock Quintet.

– Mike Flynn

For full listings and tickets visit www.lovesupremefestival.com