Fifth edition of Jazz FM Awards to take place on International Jazz Day in 2018


The Jazz FM Awards will return in 2018 at Shoreditch Town Hall London on 30 April, International Jazz Day. Last year's ceremony was the national jazz station's highest profile to-date, attracting a wealth of wide media attention, as well as some controversy, thanks to the presence of Mick Jagger, Ronnie Wood and Charlie Watts of The Rolling Stones, who won Album Of The Year for their LP, Blue and Lonesome (based on a public vote), while their drummer Watts picked up The Gold Award, in recognition of his life-long love and commitment to jazz, notably with his renowned Tentet.

The remaining awards went to a wide range of highly credible jazz artists, ranging from US players such as former David Bowie saxophonist Donny McCaslin and innovative drummer Jaimeo Brown, to leading UK names such as vibes master Orphy Robinson, fiery British saxophonist Shabaka Hutchings and pianist Nikki Yeoh.

The awards will once again be produced by Serious, with the nominees announced in early 2018, and will cover the diversity of the current jazz, blues and soul scenes – honouring established stars and emerging talents alike. Jazz FM CEO Jonathan Arendt commented: "2017 has been a remarkable year of stellar live performances, inventive collaborations, and exceptional recordings. We are delighted to be working with the brilliant producers at Serious to reflect this all in the Jazz FM Awards 2018, returning to the Shoreditch Town Hall, our new venue partner."

Mike Flynn

For more info visit