Parliamentary Jazz Awards Winners Are Announced

Jazzwise writer Kevin Le Gendre won a parliamentary shield award for journalist of the year at last night’s Parliamentary Jazz Awards held in the Terrace Pavilion of the House of Commons. Hosted by broadcaster Paul Gambaccini, the awards were organised by the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group and sponsored by music licensing company PPL and Jazz Services.

Guitarist Phil Robson won the jazz musician of the year award; the Sam Crockatt Quartet album Howeird won for jazz CD; the Ryan Quigley Sextet won for best jazz ensemble; the Fleece in Suffolk, best venue; Sarah Ward won in the broadcaster category; won for jazz publication, and Richard Michael won the education award. The services to jazz award went to photographer and writer Val Wilmer. A special award was presented to Ronnie Scott’s club in recognition of the club’s 50th anniversary which falls later this year.

Call 0800 137201 to subscribe or click here to email the subscriptions team