Parliamentary jazz winners announced


Last night the first parliamentary jazz awards took place at the House of Commons. Hosted by broadcaster Paul Gambaccini the winners in nine categories were announced. Organised by the all party parliamentary jazz appreciation group the event was sponsored by music royalties body PPL.
In the best website category was nominated. Singer Clare Teal performed at the awards and during the speeches Lord Colwyn, winner Helen Mayhew and Paul Gambaccini spoke out against the programming and name changes at the Jazz FM radio station.
Musician: Kenny Wheeler
Album: The Last Time I Saw You (Trio Records), Stan Tracey and Peter King
Venue: Wakefield Jazz
Jazz journalist: John Fordham
Broadcaster: Helen Mayhew, BBC Radio 2
Website: Jazz Services
Education: Eddie Harvey
Services to Jazz: Kathy Stobart
Ensemble: Tony Kofi Quartet