Geoff Gascoyne releases new album

Geoff Gascoigne
Bassist Geoff Gascoyne has seen his career transform itself over the last few years after he became a member of Jamie Cullum's trio, playing on two hit albums and touring the world with Cullum. But he hasn't forgotten to maintain his own projects the latest of which is his new release for Candid Records, Keep It To Yourself. Gascoyne brings along Cullum for two numbers ('Love Won't Let Me Wait' and an effective 'God Only Knows') while his other longstanding bandleader employer Georgie Fame crops up on two numbers while Gascoyne's wife, singer Trudy Kerr, also makes an appearance on the song 'All My Tomorrows'. Gascoyne has been a fixture on the UK jazz circuit for over a decade working extensively with Fame before his stint with Jamie Cullum as well as touring widely with Guy Barker. Gascoyne arranged the strings on Cullum's Twentysomething and on his new album arranges a string quartet on the track that features his wife Trudy Kerr. On the record Gascoyne is also joined by Cullum bandmate Seb de Krom as well as a pianist who is fast making a name for himself, Tom Cawley.

Born in Nottingham in 1963 Gascoyne played piano early on but went to art college before returning to music and touring with the group Everything But The Girl and Us3, as well as gigging with Jim Mullen, Georgie Fame and Van Morrison. He recorded his debut as leader Voices of Spring in 1995 and has also released a Christmas record Winter Wonderland, a quartet record, Autumn and the most recent Songs of the Summer.